Posted by: ivolution | March 20, 2008

Reef Diving in Cozumel – Cancun

img_1469_resize.jpg

After all the amazing talk and response I’ve had from the article on fresh water cave diving in Cancun I thought I’d write a nice little article on the reef dive in Cozumel in Cancun. For those of you who don’t know, Cozumel is a tourist haven little island off the coast of Mexico. Roughly a 45 minute ferry ride to the island, Cozumel is undoubtedly one of the most beautiful, tourist shopping and diving mecca’s in the world today. If I had a choice now, I would’ve spent my entire holiday in Cozumel and taken a day trip to Cancun :), but the budget would not allow.

There were 2 reef dives that I did in Cozumel. The first dive a 45 minutes dive along the reef shelf. This reef is a steep shelf that drops off hundreds of metres below. It’s a dive filled with reef sharks, turtles and eels. The tricky part of this fresh water dive is the current. You get dropped off at one spot and get taken by the current about a mile down the reef wall before being picked up 45 minutes later by your skipper. Don’t bother turning around an swimming against this current, it’s a killer!! I tried catching up with a turtle, which aren’t the quickest of swimmers but that left me out of breathe and 10 minutes short on my dive hehe. I suppose that comes with experience.

Check out some of the awesome photo’s.

44_resize.jpg   66_resize.jpg   20_resize.jpg   43_resize.jpg   

The second dive was a flat coral dive also off the coast of Cozumel. It’s a barren sandy beach with splashes of coral life spread out across the ocean floor. A quite very chilled dive, with some amazing Bass, eels and sea life! The coral is spectacular and the anenome are out of this world. Alot of sting rays and morays frequents these regions. The problem I face is that I don’t remember the name of the dive and the spots I dove in. So if these photo’s tickle your fancy you’re going to have to print them out or send your travel agent to this site and ask them if they recognise the pictures :-).

Anyways enough yabbering, check out my photo’s.

img_2942_resize.jpg   img_1505_resize.jpg   79_resize.jpg   05_resize.jpg

Cave Diving in Cancun

Other Cancun Articles

Responses

  1. […] source […]

  2. […] source […]

  3. […] […]

  4. […] source […]

  5. […] source […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

